Cornish Maid: A little bit about me

Hi, I’m Laura. I’m 28 years old (when writing this first post) and work as a copywriter and digital marketer.

I lived in Cornwall for the first 18 years of my life; 17 of them spent in a little village called Threemilestone, near Truro, and the final year spent in a tiny village called St. Tudy, near Wadebridge.

When I was 18, I went off to uni to study, socialise and, well, party. If I’m honest, I was quite keen to escape Cornwall at that point and see what else was on offer – I suppose that’s the same for most young people when they have lived in one place for so long.

After studying English Literature and Media Studies for 3 years at Bath Spa, I moved to Bristol to train as a secondary English teacher. I loved this at first, considering it to be a secure and stable career choice and delighted in the fact that I was inspiring others (or at least trying to!)

After nearly 4 years of teaching, firstly in London and then in Somerset (I moved to Glastonbury randomly and met my ex boyfriend there, in the town not the festival!) I decided that teaching wasn’t for me after all.

Well, I actually decided this about 2 years in and began writing in my spare time and completing internships and work experience placements with magazines. I loved having my work published and now have a cherished portfolio of my writing.

My first paid role out of teaching was as a proposal writer (I don’t really know what that means either), but was made redundant after only seven months. I then moved on to work as a Marketing Assistant, advertising holiday accommodation. This was a fun job with awesome people but in the end I left because I broke up with my ex (mentioned earlier) and packed my bags and returned to Kernow!

So I moved back in with my mum last October (2016). I mentioned that as a child/teen I lived in Threemilestone and then near Wadebridge. Well, mum has moved again since then and now lives in a village called St. Germans which is very close to Plymouth and, in my opinion, a little too close to Devon!

But that’s where I am now, exploring a different part of Cornwall and also trying to visit all of the old haunts that I remember so fondly. (I have since moved in with my boyfriend Chris and have been living with him in Hayle since January 2018).

I decided to start this blog because I’m always exploring places and taking tons of pics and I thought I might as well share it with the world! I know a lot of people who are in love with this beautiful county, whether they grew up here or not, and many people are only fortunate enough to come here on holiday.

I feel proud to have been born and bred here and am very happy with my decision to return.

The last few days have been absolutely gorgeous – finally! It’s the middle of July and everyone has been moaning about the rainy and cloudy weather. Now suddenly its rocketed from 19 degrees to about 29! So, of course, now everyone is complaining that they are too hot! Typical British.

I’m in between jobs at the moment so have had the opportunity to enjoy some of this lush weather, like a few days ago I went to Looe for the afternoon (pictured). As you can see, the weather was glorious and we had a slow walk through the town (now beginning to heave with tourists) and sat on the beach with delicious Cornish ice creams. More of this please!

I hope you enjoy my explorations around Β Cornwall as much as I do and that I inspire you to visit my beautiful home country.

Sowyn! (Cheers in Cornish!)

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Emily says:

    Hi Laura – do you have an email address that I could contact you on?


  2. Laura Jayne Easlick says:

    Hello, my email address is:

    Laura πŸ™‚ x


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s